Sr Samuel Chong, QS. The Malaysian Consultant

The Website for Malaysian Construction Industry.

Ask Sam !

Forum Home > General Discussion > YOU WANT TO CHALLENGE ME AH ? - NO, I'M ...

Sr Samuel Chong

YOU WANT TO CHALLENGE ME AH ?
- NO, I'M JUST ENCOURAGING HEALTHY DEBATES

When I was a student in university, I remember my friends in architectural studies telling me how they have to face a 'jury' to present their design assignments. The jury would shoot the students many questions and even argue the inadequacies of the students' work and the students would have to justify and defend their work. The students would be assessed based on their reasoned answers and how prepared they were to give their answers.

I don't know if that was standard practice for all architectural students in all universities or it's only practised in that university in that country during my time. I do know we did not have any such debative approach in my non-architectural course and I was very glad with that during that time. However, on reflection, I now wish all courses should incorporate some form of debative approach in one or some subjects so that our sentimental flash point can be trained and elevated, so that we can all be more educated and prepared to handle healthy debates in our life and professional world.

As a result of this lack of mental and social skill in handling debates, many people grow up handicapped in this area. Simple disagreements become confrontational and is deemed as not being a team player or worse, a challenge to someone's authority or leadership. That's where the title comes in - “You dare question me ? You want to challenge me ah ?” In some situations, disagreements escalate into violence.